whoever is not against us is for us

against us

“whoever is not against us is for us”

this is a provocative phrase

Jesus was referring to those who were ministering to people in His name, though they were not a part of ‘the’ disciples

His disciples told them to stop because they were not of them

Jesus’ response was: “whoever is not against us is for us.”

so, who is ‘us?’

who decides who ‘us‘ is?

when it comes to denominationalism, it is interesting to see what lines are drawn

where are your lines drawn?

who is included in your us?

if your us is more exclusive than Jesus’, then we have a problem

conversely, Jesus said: “Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but only the one who does the will of my Father who is in heaven.”

He goes on, speaking to doing God’s will as the sheep are separated from the goats – determined by how they treated others

so where does that leave us?

how do we know who’s ‘safe?’

who’s in and who’s out?

maybe that’s not for us to judge

is it enough to serve Jesus together in the midst of our diversity? is the Body capable of balancing it’s unity and diversity?

*disclaimer: I know that I ask many questions and typically have few answers. I do not apologize for that. But clarity is beginning to surface, though I’m convinced I’ll never ‘arrive’ – my desire is to continue to learn and mature as we go along together.

 

About this entry