post-pro-pastor pt.1

suit1

let me begin by saying:

I believe in God,
the Father almighty,
Creator of heaven and earth,
and in Jesus Christ, his only Son, our Lord,
who was conceived by the Holy Spirit,
born of the Virgin Mary,
suffered under Pontius Pilate,
was crucified, died and was buried;
he descended into hell;
on the third day he rose again from the dead;
he ascended into heaven,
and is seated at the right hand of God the Father almighty;
from there he will come to judge the living and the dead.
I believe in the Holy Spirit,
the holy catholic Church,
the communion of saints,
the forgiveness of sins,
the resurrection of the body,
and life everlasting. Amen.

I used to be paid to be a pastor

– this transaction brought many connotations and expectations (positive and negative) as it was contractual in nature

but when relationship is reduced (or primarily attached) to contract it loses its’ essence

*disclaimer: this is simply my journey and may/may not have implications for others

I am not paid to be a husband

I am not paid to be a father

I am not paid to be a friend

…the question I began to ask myself: ‘should I be paid to be a pastor?’

the second question: ‘can I still be a pastor without being paid’?

*disclaimer: I have many friends who are paid to be pastors – actually, most of my closest friends are pastors

I am fortunate enough to have marginally marketable skills outside of ‘the church’ and thus can realistically find alternative work

but for many paid-pastors, their bible school/ seminary degrees have little ‘value’ in the general marketplace and they can’t envision doing anything ‘outside’ of the church

thus, maintaining homeostasis increases in importance because there are bills to pay

‘rocking the boat’ becomes seemingly very dangerous because your job is on the line and the gravitational pull is so strong (more on that in pt.4)

I believe there are many, many pastors who sense God leading them in directions that may not align or lend themselves nicely to ‘working’ for an established church…yet, given the options – they choose to remain

for me, the picture of the body of Christ as an actual body has many intriguing implications

many parts…many different parts…working in concert with Christ as the head

as a pastor – which part was/am I? _____________(fill in the blank – haha…rememeber that comments are moderated)

a clarifying question for my role as a pastor: “if I am but one part of this body, how can I rightfully ask other parts to fulfill their role for ‘free’ (read: monetary compensation) while I am paid to fulfill mine?”

if I truly believe the body is comprised of many equally important parts, why the disparity?

am I, as a pastor better than others? are my gifts more important?

for me, the resounding answer is…no

*disclaimer: I wrote these posts as a series and although I welcome dialogue on each post I would ask that you reserve throwing me under the bus before reading the rest (I’m fragile)

About this entry