the stories we live

so, I’m reading this book by Donald Miller called, A Million Miles in a Thousand Years. It’s actually the book I was helping to promote in a past blog post.

following that post, I had to do far more apologizing than I thought I would – apparently people (few as they may be) gave me far more credit than I’m due. a few actually took me at my word and believed I had co-authored a book with Donald Miller, which I still feel horrible about to this day, though I laugh quietly about it as well.

enough about that.

as I’m reading this new book, the concept of ‘story’ has been slapping me in the face – mostly because that is what the book is about.

here is a snippet:
“The ambitions we have will become the stories we live. If you want to know what a person’s story is about, just ask them what they want. If we don’t want anything, we are living boring stories, and if we want a Roomba vaccum cleaner, we are living stupid stories. If it won’t work in a story, it won’t work in life.”

thoughts? reactions?
About this entry