audacious

rant:

what gives you the right to speak for God?

it seems to me (and maybe it’s just me) that some people take liberties when speaking on behalf of God – they claim: “this is the will of God.” and who am I to disagree?

I hear things like:
– it’s God’s will that we get married.
– it’s God’s will that I take this job.
– it’s God’s will that I go to this church or that.

how far do you take God’s will? how specific is this will?
– is it God’s will what clothes you put on today?
– is it God’s will which restaurant you ate at?
– is it God’s will which deodorant you use?

now, these may seem laughable, but is there a difference? how far does this go?

some, in the name of God’s will have killed.
some, in the name of God’s will have raped.
some, in the name of God’s will have done absolutely atrocious things.

what gives you the right to speak for God?

how do you know what God’s will is?

be careful when you’re using God as your excuse for those decisions you make.

I think God is more concerned with our hearts (cheezy – but I believe to be true allthesame) and attitudes. these leads to our actions and our decisions.

– be joyful, regardless of circumstance
– pray, regardless of circumstance
– be thankful, regardless of circumstance

but you and I both know you don’t have to listen to me. afterall, who am I to speak for God?
About this entry