champion something

ok, this is nothing new…just something that’s been on my mind lately.

everyone’s got an opinion. subjective, fleeting, morphing, inconsistent, but an opinion nonetheless. and many feel the need to share these subjective, fleeting, morphing, inconsistent little ‘gems’ with the rest of us (oh, don’t worry, I am identifying that in myself even as I am writing this – so back off, haha)

now, opinions are not inherently wrong or useless. actually, they are usually inevitable – if you think about something, you will form an opinion, as uneducated as it may be.

tweaking this a bit…think about your opinions – you know, those deep-seated ‘feelings’ about those things you enjoy/ appreciate/ and celebrate or loathe/ disagree with/ and attack. you talk about them over coffee. you write about them on your facebook or twitter.

politics…

religion…

sexuality…

morality…

art…

truth…

here’s the question: what are you for?

which are the things that encapsulate your life? what do you identify with? what are your defining details? when people see you, what do they see?

– are they the things that you are for? or the things that you are against?

I know plenty of people, who could talk all day about what they are against. Their identity seems wrapped up in the ‘anti-something’. Do you know these people? Lists and lists of things that they are not. “I hate this, I hate that…” And, there was a time that many “Christians” defined themselves by what they were not. “I don’t do this, I don’t do that, I’m not like him, I’m not like her.”

How negative. How backward. How lacking.

What are you for? What do you celebrate? What do you define yourself by?

How different life would be if we identified ourselves by what we are for, rather than what we are against. Now, I know that it is exponentially easier to complain and pick on things that I’m not for, but it’s a much higher calling to champion those things that I am for.

so, what are you for?

About this entry